For 88 years, The CPA Journal has earned the respect of CPAs and other financial professionals for its in-depth analysis of current issues. We do not do this alone. The editors are grateful to the accounting and financial professionals and the educators who share their expertise with our readers by authoring and reviewing articles for publication in the Journal.


The CPA Journal is a submission-based, double-blind, peer-reviewed monthly publication that features special themes throughout the year, including financial reporting, fraud, financial planning, technology, and a taxation update. The editors attempt to balance practical information and conceptual analysis to provide readers with opportunities to enhance their understanding of key issues. We depend on a large group of individuals from a diverse cross-section of the profession to provide the most relevant content for our readers. We use six criteria to ensure quality control: technical accuracy, readability, practicality, relevance of topic, timeliness, and comprehensiveness.

During the Society’s past fiscal year—between June 1, 2017, and May 31, 2018—the Journalreceived 356 submissions, a slight increase from 353 the previous year. The full set of data is summarized in the Exhibit. The overall acceptance rate rose somewhat from last year, and there remained a split between academic and nonacademic authors. The acceptance rate for academic authors rose from 42.1% to 47.8%, and the acceptance rate for nonacademic authors rose from 76.4% to 79.3%. The ratio of academic to nonacademic authors remained fairly stable at 27/33 (compared to 25/75 last year). Regular columns contributed primarily by practitioner authors continue to account for this discrepancy. These columns are also shorter on average than other articles, enabling more articles to be published over the course of the year.


Annual Submission and Review Data

2018; 2017 Total submissions; 356; 353 Accepted without revision; 211; 183 Accepted with revision; 29; 41 Rejected; 74; 86 Withdrawn without decision; 4; 5 Pending revision; 16; 17 Average days … In review; 105.55; 65.74 From acceptance to publication; 46.35; 60.78 Acceptance rate … Without revision; 59.3%; 51.8% With revision; 67.4%; 63.5% Academic authors; 47.8%; 42.1% Nonacademic authors; 79.3%; 76.4% Accepted manuscripts from … Academic authors; 26.67%; 25.00% Nonacademic authors; 73.33% 75.00%


Every year at this time, we take this opportunity to thank everyone who has contributed to the Journal—by developing topics, soliciting authors, reviewing submissions, and participating in judging articles for the annual Max Block Distinguished Article Award program. The members of the Editorial Advisory Board, our column editors, the Editorial Review Board, editorial staff, and production staff are named each month on the masthead. Members of the Editorial Advisory Board author and review submissions, solicit and develop submissions by others, and advise the editors on the future direction of the magazine. Members of the Editorial Review Board review submissions in their areas of expertise. In addition, column editors regularly author short articles within their specialty.

The editors would also like to thank the ad hoc reviewers who, in addition to the individuals listed on the masthead on page 4, evaluated manuscripts over the NYSSCPA’s past fiscal year (June 1, 2017, through May 31, 2018). The contributions of these individuals help ensure that The CPA Journal provides technical content of the highest quality in a wide variety of subject areas.

CPA Journal Manuscript Reviewers, 2017/2018

Jeffrey Allen

Deniz Appelbaum

Frank Aquilino

Jerald August

Warren Bergstein

B. Anthony Billings

Joseph Brunsman

Rumbidzai Bwerinofa-Petrozello

Anthony Casella

Brian Caswell

Ramona Cedeno

Antonia Chong

Vincent Cosenza

Dan Crouch

Jun Dai

Steven Edelman

Stephen Erlich

Jianing Fang

Roseanne Farley

Derek Flanagan

Richard Goldstein

Craig Goodman

Michael Goodman

Orumé Hays

Richard Hecht

Mark Hettler

Dado Hodzic

F. Wayne Holton

Ronald Huefner

Edward Ichart

Ronald Joseph

Diane Jules

Laura Kelly

Eric Kreuter

William Kriesel

Helen Liao

Steven Lilien

Nigyar Mamedova

Mark Martinelli

Sharon McCarthy

John McEnerney

Peter Metz

Steven Mezzio

Stephen R. Moehrle

Ian Nelson

Lawrence Pollack

Israel Press

Josef Rashty

John Raspante

Bruce Resnik

Silvia Romero

Richard Russell

Stephen Ryan

Theodore Sarenski

Erin Scanlon

Jacalyn Schwartz

Perry Shulman

Bradley Smallberg

Mitchell Sorkin

Alan Straus

Nathan Szerlip

Sallie Mullins Thompson

Thomas Tribunella

Scott Univer

Neal R. VanZante

Philip Whitman